Let’s face it, I am looking for my next stimulating position within a great company at the moment. I have to sell myself, my experience and also convince the prospective future employer that the numerous holes in my CV are due to the fact that I am dedicated to live my life fully and not to incompetence. Given that we spend a lot of time sailing, some might wonder if our social qualities are up to date and if we are competent enough to be entrusted with great responsibilities. I believe that yachties living aboard can demonstrate the following qualities:

  • We are passionate about our commitments. It takes a great amount of money, time and will to maintain a life on the water and be successful doing so.
  • We are naturally organised people. We have a place for everything on the boat, we set rules and know what getting rid of the clutter on a permanent basis means.
  • We also have a great affinity with logistics and organizing replenishment on a schedule with weather imperatives.
  • We have a keen eye for detail. We can spot what is wrong quickly or also pick up small disturbances on the water, spotting lures in an amount of plastic and so on. The other day someone put a test to spot a “C” in a middle of columns of “O” and said that if you find it in less than 1 min you were part of 10% of humans. It took me half a second.
  • We take initiatives and think outside the box. No other choices when breakage happens, you have to react quick.
  • We have a great sense of teamwork. Or at least when you are not a solo sailor.
  • We understand hierarchy and the need to use it sometimes especially in dangerous situations.
  • We are trained everyday with risk assessment scenarios. We read charts, weather maps and encompass all the data we can find for a safe journey.
  • We can live with very low energy consumption levels and be self reliable in term of water management and electricity production.
  • We know why it is important to do maintenance work. We do it ourselves.
  • We understand systems and procedures as well as material stress and constraints.
  • We love learning and observing our changing environment.
  • We know when to shut up, to manage tensions when the crew is edgy. We are very sensitive to other people’s mood. We care.
  • We have a high regard for “safety first”.
  • We are independent and able to manage our own situation for the best.
  • We are responsible individuals in charge of the safety of the boat, the passengers and the other users on the water.

Ok, there is nothing about humility there. And I guess I have met a lot of live aboards who were missing this undeniable quality.  However, Ben, my partner is the absolute buddhist monk in that respect and I, “little bandicoot”, am making a lot of efforts to follow his wisdom. So do you think a human ressource manager would value this or am I missing something important?

 

